Legal Wood and Deforestation-Free Certification

QWEB Statement

QWEB considers the urgency and supports all the regulations implemented by different countries in the fight against deforestation and illegal wood trade: Lacey Act, FLEG, Japan's Clean Wood Act, Australia’s Illegal Logging Prohibition Act, South Korea’s Act on Sustainable Use of Timber, Vietnam’s Decree on timber legality assurance system, and more recently the EU Deforestation Regulation (EUDR).

 

Due Diligence

Provincial risk analysis to meet the requirements of the FSC Controlled Wood standard

The mandatory requirements imposed by almost all regulations on illegal wood trade and deforestation are requisite to implement a ‘Due Diligence’ Statement to identify, assess, prevent, mitigate, and account for the risk of illegal wood entering the supply chain.

The Quebec Wood Export Bureau (QWEB) and the Quebec Forest Industry Council (QFIC) have conducted a provincial risk analysis for all wood or fiber supplies from public and private forests.

To achieve this, the QWEB and the QFIC formed a working group of regional industrial representatives and ensured the participation of the Ministry of Forests, Wildlife, and Parks (forest sector and regional operations sectors).

You can find the full report and the project description in the link below.

Environmental, Social, and Commercial Compliance Certification (ESCC) Environmental of the Hardwood and Flooring Sectors

QWEB is a member association of wood product manufacturers who conduct their business with integrity and in accordance with generally-recognized and accepted standards of social, commercial, and environmental responsibility. To support members of the hardwood and flooring groups wishing to demonstrate this, QWEB developed in 2010, an Environmental, Social, and Commercial Compliance (ESCC) certification.

Certification is voluntary. A certificate of compliance is issued to the company that meets the conditions required by this certification. The list of companies that have obtained this certification can be consulted using the search engine on the QWEB website. They are also listed below.

Official Certificate Stamp:

LDF Certification Program Guidelines:

The Quebec Wood Export Bureau's (QWEB) Legal and Deforestation-Free (LDF) Certification Program certifies the legality of wood and the responsible sourcing practices of its members.

QWEB is a member-based association of wood product manufacturers. Its certification program evaluates the practices of organizations that apply to demonstrate the legality and forestry origins of their wood supply.

Click on the link below to access the Guidelines:

Supply Chain Geolocation Feature Program to Meet Regulations on Deforestation-Free Products

QWEB and INCOS have worked together on an effective tool for mapping timber supply chains from the harvesting zone by using geolocation. INCOS has extensive knowledge of the main forest certification programs in North America and Europe such as the Forest Stewardship Council - FSC®, the PEFC™, and the Sustainable Forest Initiative - SFI® program

This cloud base traceability system was initially developed in response to regulations of importing countries of forest biomass. To comply, the system maps the whole supply chain and confirms forests of origin where primary feedstock is sourced.  In combination with regional risk assessments such as ours, the geolocation traceability system is currently used for QWEB pellets producers to conform to the requirements of the Sustainable Biomass Program  - SBP certification program.

Every user along the chain will be able to complete its supply chain by using data of the supplier previously entered into the system with the information required by the program regulations (note 1). The information will include geolocation at the city level, to meet the EU Regulation on deforestation-free products presented in a provisional text published December 21, 2022, the name of the suppliers, description of the raw material received including the scientific name of species and quantities, the volume of wood product sold, all required documents to demonstrate the conformity, and Due Diligence of low risk of illegally harvested wood.

The program is a cloud base system, working in a collaborative, evolutive, confidential way, but accessible to auditors or even customers with authorized access on request. The system is updated to meet forest certification, and legal and deforestation-free requirements to ensure that exporters fully respond to the Due Diligence obligations of their overseas customers.

 

Issuance of Certificates

The registered member operator shall affix the "seal of approval" to the shipping documents when shipping certified North American hardwood lumber.

Litigation Management and Withdrawal of Certification:

In the event of any non-conformance with the Legal Wood and Deforestation-Free Certification, QWEB may suspend or terminate the certification.

In the case of any false declaration or illegal trade claim, QWEB will proceed, if necessary with a sample detailed chemical, genetic and anatomical analysis to provide irrefutable proof of species and origin.

A proven member offender will be immediately excluded from the Association and their certification terminated.

Inspection and Independent Auditor

Control and verification measures are provided by a QWEB director, and the audit is done by an accredited auditor. It provides the necessary means to ensure the traceability of wood as well as derived products at any point in the supply chain, and at any time via the cloud base system. The inspection ensures that regulations are enforced and followed. It also allows for the verification of elements constituting due diligence by examining registers and documentation and oversees the application of risk mitigation measures. The auditor has the authority to issue  non-conformance and corrective measures.

The Quebec Wood Export Bureau (QWEB) in collaboration with the Québec Forest Industry Council (QFIC/CIFQ) is recognized by the Canadian Food and Inspection Agency (CFIA) as a third-party auditor and have implemented to the same industry members the official Heat Treatment certification of their facilities and operations under the HT Program. The program allows member companies to issue heat-treatment certificates for their lumber shipment or apply the wood packaging mark for packaging material.

This program involves six (6) site audits per year per location for the first year of implementation and four (4) audits per year for subsequent years.

Environmental Product Declarations

An Environmental Product Declaration (EPD) is a document providing key environmental information about a product or service, quantified with a life cycle analysis (LCA) conducted on a scientific basis. An EPD must follow the rules of the ISO 14025:2006 standard product, as well as the product category rules (PCR) established for the concerned products or services.

As its name suggests, the life cycle analysis describes the environmental impacts throughout the life of a product or service from its initial production to its use. In some cases, such as certain wood products, the analysis is done for all stages from harvesting through to when the finished product is ready to leave the manufacturing facility.

Certificat de légalité du bois

Position du QWEB

Le QWEB est conscient de l'urgence d’agir dans la lutte contre la déforestation et le commerce illégal du bois. En ce sens, il soutient les réglementations mises en place par les différents pays, notamment :« Lacey Act, FLEG, Japan Clean Wood Act, Australia’s Illegal Logging Prohibition Act, South Korea Act on Sustainable Use of Timber, Vietnam Decree on timber legality assurance system », et plus récemment, le « nouveau règlement de l'UE sur la déforestation (EUDR) ».

Diligence Raisonnable

Analyse des risques provinciale pour répondre aux exigences de la norme FSC bois contrôlé

Les exigences obligatoires imposées dans le cadre de la réglementation sur le commerce illégal du bois et de la déforestation requièrent de mettre en œuvre une déclaration de « diligence raisonnable » pour identifier, évaluer, prévenir, atténuer et comptabiliser le risque de bois illégal entrant dans la chaîne d'approvisionnement.

À ce titre, le Bureau de promotion des produits du bois du Québec (QWEB) et le Conseil de l’industrie forestière du Québec (CIFQ) ont réalisé une analyse de risque provinciale visant tous les approvisionnements en bois ou en fibres, provenant des forêts publiques et privées.

Pour y arriver, le QWEB et le CIFQ ont constitué un groupe de travail de représentants industriels régionaux et se sont assuré de la participation du ministère des Ressources naturelles et des Forêts (secteur forêts et secteurs des opérations régionales).

Vous trouverez le rapport complet et la description du projet à l’aide des liens ci-dessous.

Certification de conformité environnementale, sociale et commerciale (CESC) du groupe feuillu et plancher

Le QWEB représente des manufacturiers de produits du bois menant leur entreprise avec intégrité et conformément aux normes de responsabilités sociales, commerciales et environnementales généralement reconnue et acceptée. De manière à appuyer les membres des groupes feuillu et plancher voulant en faire la démonstration, le QWEB a développé, une certification de conformité environnementale, sociale et commerciale (CESC).

L’adhésion à cette certification est volontaire. Un certificat de conformité est remis à l’entreprise respectant les conditions exigées par cette certification. Cette certification interne était déjà obligatoire pour les industriels membres du QWEB. La liste des entreprises ayant obtenu cette certification peut être consultée à l'aide du moteur de recherche du site Web. Elle figure également ci-dessous.

Étampe officielle du certificat :

Directives du Programme de certification du LARQ :

Le programme de certification de légalité et d’approvisionnement responsable (LARQ) du Québec Wood Export Bureau (QWEB) certifie la légalité des bois et les pratiques responsables d’approvisionnement de ses membres.

Le QWEB est une association de membres manufacturiers de produits du bois. Son programme de certification évalue les pratiques des organisations qui en font la demande dans le but de démontrer la légalité et les origines forestières de leur approvisionnement en bois.

Cliquez sur le lien ci-dessous pour accéder aux directives :

Nouvelle plateforme avec géolocalisation pour se conformer aux normes de déforestation (EUTR)

Le QWEB et INCOS ont travaillé ensemble sur un outil efficace de cartographie de chaînes d’approvisionnement du bois depuis la zone d'exploitation en utilisant la géolocalisation. INCOS est une entreprise respectée possédant une connaissance approfondie des principaux programmes de certification forestière en Amérique du Nord et en Europe tel que Forest Stewardship Council - FSC®, the PEFC™ and the Sustainable Forest Initiative - SFI® program.

Ce système de traçabilité infonuagique a été initialement développé en réponse aux réglementations des pays importateurs de biomasse forestière. Pour être en conformité, le système permet de cartographier l'ensemble de la chaîne d'approvisionnement et de confirmer les forêts d'origine des matières premières. Associé à des évaluations régionales des risques telles que la nôtre, le système de traçabilité par géolocalisation est actuellement utilisé par les producteurs de granulés du QWEB pour se conformer aux exigences du programme de certification SBP (Sustainable Biomass Program).

Chaque utilisateur de la chaîne pourra recréer la chaîne d'approvisionnement en utilisant les données du fournisseur précédemment saisies dans le système avec les informations requises par la réglementation du programme. Les informations incluront une géolocalisation de manière à respecter le Règlement de l'UE sur la déforestation (EUDR) présentée dans un texte provisoire publié le 21 décembre 2022, le nom du fournisseur, la description incluant le nom scientifique de l'espèce, le volume du produit transigé, les documents requis pour démontrer la conformité et la Diligence raisonnable du faible risque d’illégalité du bois récolté.

Le programme en base infonuagique fonctionnera de manière collaborative, évolutive et confidentielle, et sera accessible aux auditeurs et aux clients ayant un droit d’accès. Le système sera toujours mis à jour dans le but de respecter la certification forestière et les exigences légales afin de garantir que les exportateurs répondent pleinement aux obligations de leurs clients étrangers.

Délivrance des certificats

L'opérateur membre enregistré appose le « sceau d'approbation » sur les documents d'expédition lorsqu'il expédie du bois feuillu nord-américain certifié.

Gestion des litiges et retrait de la certification :

En cas de non-conformité avec le Certificat de légalité du bois, le QWEB est en droit de suspendre ou mettre fin à la certification.

En cas de fausse déclaration ou d'allégation de commerce illégal, le QWEB procédera, si nécessaire, à une analyse chimique, génétique et anatomique détaillée de l'échantillon afin de fournir une preuve irréfutable de l'espèce et de l'origine.

Un membre avéré fautif sera immédiatement exclu de l'Association et sa certification sera résiliée.

Inspection et auditeur indépendant

Des mesures de contrôle et de vérification sont assurées par une tierce partie certifiée en absence de tous conflits d’intérêts. Celles-ci prévoient des moyens d’assurer la traçabilité du bois ainsi que des produits dérivés et ce, à n’importe quel point et en tout temps dans la chaîne d’approvisionnement en utilisant les données infonuagiques. Cette tierce partie agit de façon à s’assurer que la réglementation en vigueur est rigoureusement appliquée. Elle s’assure en outre du respect des éléments constituant la diligence raisonnable par l’examen des registres et de la documentation et veille à l’application des mesures d’atténuation du risque. Elle est autorisée à reprocher une faute ou un manquement et le pouvoir d’appliquer les mesures pénales qu’on lui a conférées.

Le QWEB, en collaboration avec le CIFQ, est reconnu par l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) en tant qu'auditeur tiers et a mis en place pour les mêmes membres de l'industrie la certification officielle du traitement thermique de leurs installations et leurs opérations dans le cadre du programme HT. Ce programme permet aux entreprises membres de livrer des certificats de traitement thermique pour leurs expéditions de bois et d'appliquer la marque d'emballage en bois pour les matériaux d'emballage.

Ce programme implique pour chaque emplacement six (6) audits sur site par an pour la première année de mise en œuvre, et quatre (4) audits par an pour les années suivantes.

Déclarations environnementales de produits

Une déclaration environnementale de produit (DEP) est un document fournissant les principales informations environnementales sur un produit ou un service, quantifiées à l’aide d’une analyse du cycle de vie (ACV) menée sur des bases scientifiques. Un DEP doit suivre les règles de la norme ISO 14025:2006 , de même que les règles de catégorie de produits (Product Category Rules ‒ PCR) établies pour les produits ou services concernés.

Tel que son nom l’indique, l’analyse du cycle de vie retrace les impacts environnementaux tout au long de la vie d’un produit ou service, à partir de sa production initiale jusqu’à son utilisation. Dans certains cas, comme pour certains produits du bois, l’analyse se fait pour toutes les étapes à partir de la récolte, mais s’arrête à la sortie des produits de l’usine de transformation du bois.